The Web    www.100share.com    Google
 
Dead or Alive
List Price: $25.95

Our Price: $12.72

You Save: $13.23 (51%)

 


Product Description

Fans of Cormac MaCarthy¡¯s No Country for Old Men and Tony Hillerman¡¯s Navajo County mysteries will find Michael McGarrity¡¯s Dead or Alive a powerful story of the manhunt for a deranged killer in the American Southwest.

Living in London while his wife serves as a military attach¨¦ at the American Embassy, recently retired Santa Fe Police Chief Kevin Kerney gets an early morning phone call that changes everything and sends him hurrying home to his New Mexico ranch. Riley Burke, his partner in a horsetraining enterprise, has been mowed down on Kerney¡¯s doorstep by an escaped prisoner cutting a murderous swath through New Mexico.

As the killings mount, Kerney teams up with his half-Apache son, Lieutenant Clayton Istee of the Lincoln County Sheriff¡¯s Department, to hunt for a psychotic murderer with a growing appetite for blood, who has no intention to be taken alive.

Customer Reviews:

  • Michael McGarrity does it again!
    Another great book by Michael McGarrity. The story continues. The character in this book is much more violent compared to previous books. Author puts you behind the wheel as he takes you through small towns in northern New Mexico. It's a must read for Kevin Kearney fans. You won't be disappointed....more info
  • Dead or Alive
    Excellent! Michael McGarrity gets better with each release. His characters are so real that I think I know some of them personally in real life. His descriptions of the New Mexico landscape and weather make you feel you are getting a sunburn while sitting in the comfort of your own home. I eagerly await each new novel....more info
  • Fun but could be better
    Readers who enjoyed Gunsmoke and Bonanza in the early days of TV will enjoy this plot driven novel.
    "Dead or Alive" is an exciting adventure of the west in a modern day setting.
    Craig Larson is one of the truly villanous characters in recent times. His killing spree is reminiscent of the ligendary villan Blue Duck from "Lonesome Dove".
    At one point in "Lonesome Dove," Blue Duck tells Gus McCrae "I ain't got time to waste on killin' some old Ranger with holes in his underwear. There's plenty more need killin'.
    In "Dead or Alive" Craig Larson escapes jail while being transported to a minimum security facility and goes on a murderous rampage. He becomes more and more unhinged although his character is never developed and we do not learn the background of his hatred.
    He kills Kevin Kerney's partner and Kerney and his son, a half Apache named Clayton Istee track him down.
    It is a chace to the end and the only question is how many more people Larson will kill before he is caught and disposed of.
    The ending was disappointing and the lack of character development or descriptive setting is lacking from McGarrity's earlier works but he his still a fine story teller.
    Submitted by Michael Draper...more info
  • Keeps you reading
    Yes, there is a lot of violence in this book, but what is interesting is how it escalates. The reader wants to keep on reading to find out what happens. I want to go back and read all of these books. ...more info
  • Keeps you reading
    Yes, there is a lot of violence in this book, but what is interesting is how it escalates. The reader wants to keep on reading to find out what happens. I want to go back and read all of these books. ...more info
  • Fun but could be better
    Readers who enjoyed Gunsmoke and Bonanza in the early days of TV will enjoy this plot driven novel.
    "Dead or Alive" is an exciting adventure of the west in a modern day setting.
    Craig Larson is one of the truly villanous characters in recent times. His killing spree is reminiscent of the ligendary villan Blue Duck from "Lonesome Dove".
    At one point in "Lonesome Dove," Blue Duck tells Gus McCrae "I ain't got time to waste on killin' some old Ranger with holes in his underwear. There's plenty more need killin'.
    In "Dead or Alive" Craig Larson escapes jail while being transported to a minimum security facility and goes on a murderous rampage. He becomes more and more unhinged although his character is never developed and we do not learn the background of his hatred.
    He kills Kevin Kerney's partner and Kerney and his son, a half Apache named Clayton Istee track him down.
    It is a chace to the end and the only question is how many more people Larson will kill before he is caught and disposed of.
    The ending was disappointing and the lack of character development or descriptive setting is lacking from McGarrity's earlier works but he his still a fine story teller.
    Submitted by Michael Draper...more info
  • Two D's for this one
    DEAD OR ALIVE really disturbed and disappointed me. The gratuitous violence was so disturbing that I barely finished the book. It seems to me that McGarrity was trying to include as many ways of horrendous murder as he could in one book and that doing so did not improve the book in any way. He also did so at the cost of developing other aspects of the book. Surely Patrick would have protested at being left in London with an unknown nanny! Of course Sara would have chided Kevin for not coming home before she left for London. Did Kevin have the colonoscopy and how was his stomach at the end? Even the ending just sets the scene for the next book instead of discussing why Larson felt compelled to do what he did.
    I have really enjoyed McGarrity's previous books but I will read reviews carefully before I start another one....more info